Conductor and Accompanist

Ian Waite, Conductor

Ian Waite

Conductor since 1995

Ians Musical Background

Ian started his musical career at the age of eight, joining the town brass band playing the cornet and by the age of eleven had attained the title of Welsh soloist of the year. He played in the Gwent County Youth Band progressing to principal cornet. Ian also enjoyed singing in many musical productions and always took an active part in the field of music. During 1976 he joined the Tredegar Town Band and in 1979 became the band's principal cornet player, moving on to the world famous Cory Band in the Rhondda which won the British championship for three consecutive years.

In 1991 Ian joined the choir as a singing member. His knowledge and enthusiasm was soon recognised and in 1993 he was appointed Musical Director.

Helen Phillips

Accompanist since 1995

Helens background

Helen is an accompanist of considerable experience and versatility. She has accompanied many accomplished artistes at home and abroad, several amateur operatic societies and numerous male choirs that include Llantrisant, Bargoed, Ebbw Vale and Tredegar.

Helen has been closely associated with Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir for many years having held the position for eleven years during the 1990's and into the millennium. Helen's second appointment to the choir came earlier this year.

The Team

Clive Morgan


European Heritage Tours

Carl Morse


C.C. Sports and Reflex Embroidery

Phillip Sillman


Ken Watkins

Vice Chairman

Keith Davies

Financial Secretary

Harold Davies



Ken Watkins

Stage Manager

Clive Penny

200 Club Secretary

Derrick Sainsbury



Mr and Mrs C. Beake

Mr W.H. Davies

Mr G.T. Phillips

Mrs M. Smith

Mr B. Westacott

Mrs F. Harris

Mr A.E. James

Mr P. Williams

Mr B. Holland

Mr N. Gregory

Mr R. Thomas

Life Members

Mr Tom Brown

Mr Keith Davies

Mr Alan James

Mr Herbert Hatton

Mr H. Davies

Mr E. Jones

Honorary Member

Mr Herbert Byard

Choir Members

Choir Members 2017

First Tenors Second Tenors First Bass Second Bass
David BeynonDavid DaviesKeith DaviesGordon Baines
Graham BuftonJake JamesKen GreenMike Connolly
Roger EdwardsKeith JonesSheridan JefferyDavid Hughes
Gerald HargestJeff WeedJack PadfieldDavid Jones
Gary JonesClive PennyKeith Jenkins
Ronald PowellRon B. PowellEddie Moon
Phillip ProsserDavid PriceGlyndwr Moon
Callum ReesPhillip SillmanJonathan Waite
Derrick SainsburyGraham SmithDavid Wathan
Alan WakeJohn Thomas
Peter Waldron
Kenneth Watkins
Trevor White
Gerraint Jones-Griffiths